Skip to content

2017 Communication Prize Winners

Stage 4 Conference week saw the top three Sydney Medical School finalists compete in a live event to determine their place in the 2017 Sulway Harris Prize for Excellence in Clinical Communication. The finalists participated in response, empathy and role play activities scored by a panel of seven esteemed judges representing the academic, clinical, patient and medico-legal aspects of the medical world. The final outcome was:

  • 1st Prize of $1,500: Christian Katsikaros, Westmead Clinical School (pictured above with judge, Assoc. Prof. Chris Roberts)
  • 2nd Prize of $1,000: Travis Bettison, Northern Clinical School
  • 3rd Prize of $500: Aditi Raut, Northern Clinical School

The Pam McLean Centre administered the prize application & assessment process and hosted the live event on behalf of Sydney Medical School, The University of Sydney. The prize was established by Dr Martyn Sulway and Sydney Medical School in 2016 to promote and encourage the development of professional communication skills. We look forward to doing it all again in 2018.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s